Travelerous Latest  ·  Forum  ·  Most Popular  ·  Log In  ·  Register  

What is the Schengen Zone?

The Schengen Zone consists of a group of European countries that have adopted a cooperative agreement to simplify border controls and visa requirements.

The countries in the Zone are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • the Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • the Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

Holders of valid US passports generally can travel visa-free within the Schengen Zone for up to 90 days.  Visitors from other countries can usually apply for a single visa which allows them to travel to and between any of the countries in the Zone.

last updated 2008.08.19
No comments have been submitted yet.
Please register or log in to add a comment.